Install cert on-premise server

Is there any documentation around switching out the SSL certificate on an on-premise deployment with your own SSL cert? Sorry if I have missed it…

Hi, take a look to http://docs.thinger.io/deployment/#thingerio-configuration-config-file

You will notice that the config file defines an ssl configuration with some predefined certs. Just put your own certificates on /var/snap/thinger-maker-server/common/certificates.

Hope it helps!

thanks for your reply.
I am a complete Linux newbie, but been in the windows server world for 25 years. excuse my ignorance, but is this a standard Linux way of doing certificates (that I can google to find how) or do these certificates need to be prepared in a certain way to work in this configuration. I have the public .CRT file from my cert provider that i have from a windows box (with the private key embedded). I am happy to document a process and post if you could maybe point me in the right direction… my windows experience is that you need to generate a CSR request and then send that to the authority and then they issue a matching cert… (private and public keys)

A friend of mine who knows linux helped me by pointing me to this:https://www.markbrilman.nl/2011/08/howto-convert-a-pfx-to-a-seperate-key-crt-file/

i used this process to extract the private key and public cert from my production PFX certificate (that had the private key embedded). I created a SERVER.KEY and a SERVER.CRT file from this process and put in to the folder on the server, but thinger doesn’t start. I get the errors below. If i put back the original CRT and KEY file it starts.

sysadmin@thinger:/var/snap/thinger-maker-server/common$ sudo service snap.thinger-maker-server.thingerd start
sysadmin@thinger:/var/snap/thinger-maker-server/common$ sudo service snap.thinger-maker-server.thingerd status
● snap.thinger-maker-server.thingerd.service - Service for snap application thinger-maker-server.thingerd