Data Streaming Frequency Limitations

Hello all,

I am new to thinger.io and I am also new to programming Arduino’s so I have been doing a LOT of learning, this is truly a wonderful platform you all have developed.

I currently am working with an MKR1000 and using it as a Data Acquisition device for voltage and current that is in a hard to reach place. I was curious as to what the limitations are on how many times a minute/second I am able to take a reading and send it to a bucket. I am familiar with the web interface allowing me to choose up to as much as once per second, but I also knew that I could write it into my code to update at whatever rate I wanted.

I implemented a very rough code that queried and streamed my sensor data very quickly (many times a second) and my device almost immediately got disconnected and I received an email saying that it has been disabled shown here:

Your device MKR1000 has been disabled due to excessive call fails. This often happens when your device calls your resources (endpoints or buckets) at inappropriate rate. Please, verify your device code.

Now as I’ve researched more and more the uses that people have used this platform for, I realize that I am rather outside of the normal scope of use.

So all of that being said, my question is: what is the absolute quickest I would be allowed to send data pieces to thinger.io. I currently am using free hosting through google, but I am curious what the possibilities would be with paid hosting as well. Any insight into this would be greatly appreciated.

Hello @NathanE,

Thank you so much for using Thinger.io community to resolve your doubts.

I’m not sure but I think this message is only sent with instructions like write_bucket or call_endpoint , but if you send it with thing.stream() there is no problem on sending for a short time period around one data each 100-150ms depending on the device.

I suggest you always include your code so we can help you better

best

Hello!