Button Pressed 3 seconds to return to Access Point mode with ClientListener, and in the loop (); with thing.handle ();

Hi,

I’m not a programmer, but I’m evolving well with the Thinger.io library for Esp8266 (NodeMcu). I’m trying to implement a button that, when pressed for 3 seconds, the device goes back to Access Point mode.

I was able to implement the button when the device is in the loop () ;, running the thing.handle () ;.

But it is unable to implement the button when the device loses its connection or when the router / modem stops working for some electronic reason. This apparently causes an infinite loop, as the ClientListener is trying to connect to the configured router / modem without success infinitely.

The problem is if that router / modem has to be exchanged for another device. How to go back to Access Point mode, and change the SSID and password to connect to a new router / modem?

I already searched in other posts (with the words ClientListener and button), but I didn’t see anything about this issue.

The code for my button is this:

#define BUTTON_PIN  D8

void buttonPressThreeSeconds(){

// Read the pin on the button (with pulldown resistor). If true, run the code below:                      
   if(digitalRead(D8)){                      

// Disconnect from the router / modem and return to Access Point mode.
  WiFi.persistent(true);
  WiFi.disconnect(true);
  WiFi.persistent(false);
  delay (1000); 

ESP.restart();

}

}

I handled exceptions with this code, already provided in other posts:

class ClientListener : public ThingerWebConfig{
public:
    ClientListener(const char* user, const char* device, const char* device_credential) : 
      ThingerWebConfig(user, device, device_credential){}
protected:
  virtual void thinger_state_listener(THINGER_STATE state){

ThingerWebConfig::thinger_state_listener(state);
    switch(state){
        case NETWORK_CONNECT_ERROR:

digitalWrite(LED_PIN, HIGH);

buttonPressThreeSeconds();

break;